York Labour Leadership Debate

location for Clements Hall


July 31, 2015 at 7pm - 10:30pm


Clements Hall
Nunthorpe Road
York, Yorkshire YO23 1BW
United Kingdom
Google map and directions

York Labour Party will be holding a debate on the leadership election on Friday 31 July at Clements Hall starting at 7:30pm. This is open to all members and supporters.

While we will not have any of the leadership candidates present, we will begin the evening by showing a short video clip from each of the contenders setting out their respective positions. Members and supporters will then be able to have an open discussion on the the merits of the four candidates. We are currently assuming that there will be about an hour of debate but this will depend on how many people wish to make contributions. 

There will be a bar open all evening serving beer, wine, and hot drinks, and once the formal debate is over you are encouraged to stay on for an informal drink and discussion. 

The timetable for the evening will be approximately as follows:



Doors & bar opens


Videos from candidates




Socialising and informal debate


We will be asking attendees to make a voluntary donation of £2 (or more if you can afford it) to cover the costs of hiring the venue. 



Clements Hall is on Nunthorpe Road opposite Scarcroft School - see map. There is limited on street parking in the immediate vicinity, but the venue is a short walk away from Nunnery Lane car park. 



The venue is fully accessible. If you have any particular access needs please let us know. 


Further information

If you would like any further information please feel free to contact me.



Danny Golding

Political Awareness Co-ordinator

Danny Golding · · 07961 210733
Charles Hind Caroline Hind John Wrathmell Susan Richard Morley Frank Hanson Jennifer Saunders Sally Bourton Joseph Riches Penelope Spires Ruth Dianne Gomery Andrea Dudding John Whysall Don Phillips Randall Northam Geoff Beacon James Harland Philip Cerny Tina Funnell John Bibby David Howell Timothy Moore Michael Wills Cath Hurley Jane Hustwit Rita Milne Alan Sharp Karl Smith Faye Mortonson Gareth Valentine William Owen Barry Graham Neil Derrick Rachael Maskell Janina Pirozek robert Beniston Nick Liddle Brian Card Thomas Wright Sally Howard Paul Davis Peter Jarman Viv Kind Martin Harrison Ian Greener David Levene Janet Looker

Will you come?

The Labour Party and its elected representatives may contact you using the information you supply.

Do you like this page?

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.